The best thing to do in Whistler when it is Raining!

OK – maybe not the best thing, but it sure was fun…. and never appeared to dampen any spirits!

  http://www.whistlerchamberofcommerce.com/

The seventh annual Whistler Chamber of Commerce Golf day started out absolutely beautiful – and that was a surprise because the weather report  had said rain! I love how events like this get the community out and everyone is in such great spirits (no pun intended)… This is the first golf tournament of the year in Whistler…. it is always well attended with 144 golfers & supported by over 20 different sponsors at various levels.

SPONSORSHIP

The lead sponsor for the day was once again TELUS – with Linda Godin handing out chocolate golf balls, water bottles, and suntan lotion…. Each hole was sponsored by a local business that set up fun games or treats which made waiting for your turn an adventure…I was lucky enough to have a massage on hole #15 from Solarice Wellness Spa, Bailey’s and hot chocolate on hole #16 and free beer from Whistler Brewery on hole #18… Pemberton golf was handing out gift certificates along with Nicklaus North and Whistler Adventure Group…

  

How very exciting it was to find out  http://www.scandinave.com/en/whistler/ was there, because they were giving away gift certificates for the baths at the spa…. now I can take a friend…as I received a gift certificate just last week from the Women of Whistler event….

The Game

We played a Texas Scramble – this was good for me, and also a little nerve-racking as we needed to use three of my drives…. Now my golf clubs were still in storage on the island, Francis at my office was kind enough to lend me his clubs… I said his… yes I used mens clubs…It was all for fun, and I did have a great time… I did hit three ok drives… my putting however was better…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pHrVj3wC5hc

The Whistler Chamber staff was their usual amazing group and took very good care of everyone, it was well-organized and as I mentioned well attended. There was a 50/50 draw, plenty of great prizes, and a yummy burger with beer to end the day. A great big thank you and I am looking forward to next years event.

Cheers! [tweetmeme source=whistlerheather only_single=false]

Leave a Reply

